I am working on the template of this blog today in order to chase down some problems that have developed with my template and widgets.

Saturday, May 31, 2014

Mike Huckabee and Speaker Dennis Hastert To Keynote 2014 NCGOP Convention in Cherokee, NC

NCGOP 2014 Convention Coverage Banner

Macon Media will be covering the 2014 Convention of the North Carolina Republican Party since it is happening practically in our backyard in Cherokee, NC on June 7th. The statewide convention of the Democratic Party is happening in Raleigh, NC...too far away for me to cover. It is also occurring on June 7th.

I expect to be receiving my press credentials soon to cover the event, and as part of the process of applying to cover the event, I have started receiving press releases regarding next weekend's event. Here is one regarding the lineup of speakers.


North Carolina Republican Party

Raleigh, NC - The North Carolina Republican Party is pleased to announce that former U.S. House Speaker Dennis Hastert and former Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee will be keynote speakers for the 2014 North Carolina Republican Party Convention dinner to be held on Saturday, June 7th in Cherokee, NC.

"It's a great honor to have Speaker Hastert and Governor Huckabee join us at our convention this year,” said North Carolina Republican Party Chairman Claude Pope. “Momentum is steadily building across North Carolina for Thom Tillis, with Republicans organizing the strongest grassroots effort in our state’s history. Speaker Hastert and Governor Huckabee will help make the 2014 NCGOP Convention a strong launching pad for Tillis' general election campaign, with the Republican Party united and energized to defeat liberal Kay Hagan in November."

Dennis Hastert served as the 59th Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1999-2007. Mike Huckabee served as the Governor of Arkansas from 1996-2007 and was a candidate for President in 2008.

The NCGOP Convention will also feature Republican U.S. Senate Nominee Thom Tillis, Governor Pat McCrory, Lt. Governor Dan Forest, Former U.S. Education Secretary Bill Bennett, Congressman Mark Meadows and Dr. Mark Harris.