I am working on the template of this blog today in order to chase down some problems that have developed with my template and widgets.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Blue Dogs Decimated to Poodle Status

Whither the Blue Dogs? Once touted by their members as the most powerful power broker in the US House of representatives, their numbers have been more than halved, defeated by conservative Republicans.

That number of 54 members has been shrunk to just 24 members...many of them barely winning re-election....and several by less than 2% of the vote.

The surviving members of the Blue Dog Coalition are:

Altmire, Jason (PA-04) RE-ELECTED 51%
Baca, Joe (CA-43)
Barrow, John (GA-12)
Bishop, Sanford (GA-02) RE-ELECTED 51%
Boren, Dan (OK-02)
Boswell, Leonard (IA-03) RE-ELECTED 50.7%
Cardoza, Dennis (CA-18)
Chandler, Ben (KY-06) RE-ELECTED 50.1% (600 votes)
Cooper, Jim (TN-05)
Cuellar, Henry (TX-28)
Donnelly, Joe (IN-02)
Giffords, Gabrielle (AZ-08)
Harman, Jane (CA-36)
Holden, Tim (PA-17)
McIntyre, Mike (NC-07)
Matheson, Jim (UT-02) RE-ELECTED 50.7%
Michaud, Mike (ME-02)
Peterson, Collin (MN-07)
Ross, Mike (AR-04)
Sanchez, Loretta (CA-47)
Schiff, Adam (CA-29)
Schrader, Kurt (OR-05) RE-ELECTED 51.4%
Scott, David (GA-13)
Shuler, Heath (NC-11)
Thompson, Mike (CA-01)

The Leadership of the Blue Dogs has been cut in half:

Blue Dog Leadership Team

Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (SD), Blue Dog Co-Chair for Administration DEFEATED
Rep. Baron Hill (IN-09), Blue Dog Co-Chair for Policy DEFEATED
Rep. Jim Matheson (UT-02), Blue Dog Co-Chair for Communications RE-ELECTED 51%
Rep. Heath Shuler (NC-11), Blue Dog Whip RE-ELECTED

Here is the full roster of Blue Dogs taken from the Blue Dog Coalition website, annotated with the outcome of the 2010 midterms:

Altmire, Jason (PA-04) RE-ELECTED 51%
Arcuri, Mike (NY-24) DEFEATED
Baca, Joe (CA-43) RE-ELECTED
Barrow, John (GA-12) RE-ELECTED
Berry, Marion (AR-01) RETIRED Republican won
Bishop, Sanford (GA-02) RE-ELECTED 51%
Boren, Dan (OK-02) RE-ELECTED
Boswell, Leonard (IA-03) RE-ELECTED 50.7%
Boyd, Allen (FL-02) DEFEATED
Bright, Bobby (AL-02) DEFEATED
Cardoza, Dennis (CA-18) RE-ELECTED
Carney, Christopher (PA-10) DEFEATED
Chandler, Ben (KY-06) RE-ELECTED 50.1% (600 votes)
Childers, Travis (MS-01) DEFEATED
Cooper, Jim (TN-05) RE-ELECTED
Costa, Jim (CA-20) DEFEATED 51.4%
Cuellar, Henry (TX-28) RE-ELECTED
Dahlkemper, Kathy (PA-03) DEFEATED
Davis, Lincoln (TN-04) DEFEATED
Donnelly, Joe (IN-02) RE-ELECTED
Ellsworth, Brad (IN-08) RETIRED Republican Won
Giffords, Gabrielle (AZ-08) RE-ELECTED
Gordon, Bart (TN-06) RETIRED Republican Won
Harman, Jane (CA-36) RE-ELECTED
Herseth Sandlin, Stephanie (SD) DEFEATED
Hill, Baron (IN-09) DEFEATED
Holden, Tim (PA-17) RE-ELECTED
Kratovil, Jr., Frank (MD-01) DEFEATED
McIntyre, Mike (NC-07) RE-ELECTED
Markey, Betsy (CO-04) DEFEATED
Marshall, Jim (GA-08) DEFEATED
Matheson, Jim (UT-02) RE-ELECTED 50.7%
Melancon, Charlie (LA-03) DEFEATED
Michaud, Mike (ME-02) RE-ELECTED
Minnick, Walt (ID-01) DEFEATED
Mitchell, Harry (AZ-05) DEFEATED
Moore, Dennis (KS-03) DEFEATED
Murphy, Patrick (PA-08) DEFEATED
Murphy, Scott (NY-20) DEFEATED
Nye, Glenn (VA-02) DEFEATED
Peterson, Collin (MN-07) RE-ELECTED
Pomeroy, Earl (ND) DEFEATED
Ross, Mike (AR-04) RE-ELECTED
Salazar, John (CO-03) DEFEATED
Sanchez, Loretta (CA-47) RE-ELECTED
Schiff, Adam (CA-29) RE-ELECTED
Schrader, Kurt (OR-05) RE-ELECTED 51.4%
Scott, David (GA-13) RE-ELECTED
Shuler, Heath (NC-11) RE-ELECTED
Space, Zack (OH-18) DEFEATED
Tanner, John (TN-08) DEFEATED
Taylor, Gene (MS-04) DEFEATED
Thompson, Mike (CA-01) RE-ELECTED
Wilson, Charles (OH-06) DEFEATED

Bookmark and Share