I am working on the template of this blog today in order to chase down some problems that have developed with my template and widgets.

Friday, January 16, 2009

North Carolina General Assembly
Legislative Calender 01-16-2009

**3.09pm** The committee met for over 2 hours this morning and nearly two hours this afternoon. I will have the audio up later this evening, but I wanted to give you a heads up...the North Carolina General Assembly thinks they can solve the problem of poverty. Be afraid, very afraid!

Yay! Only one meeting today.

10:00 AM in 643 LOB
Poverty Reduction and Economic Recovery Study Commission

House Appt: A Bryant, E Jones, G Pierce (Cochair), J Harrell, III, J Langdon, T Walend, W Current;

Senate Appt: D Weinstein, D East, D Berger, E Jones (Cochair), F McKissick, J Queen, S Goss;

PDF of the legislation that authorized this committee to be formed and to spend $100,000 studying ways to redice poverty.

Full membership list:

  • Sen. Edward Walter Jones (Co-Chair)
  • Sen. Doug Berger
  • Sen. Don W. East
  • Sen. Steve Goss
  • Sen. Floyd B. McKissick, Jr.
  • Sen. Joe Sam Queen
  • Sen. David F. Weinstein
  • Mr. James C. Beasley (Public Member)
  • Ms. Elyse Cochran (Public Member)
  • Hon. Zeno L. Edwards, Jr. (Public Member)
  • Rep. Garland E. Pierce (Co-Chair)
  • Rep. Angela R. Bryant
  • Rep. William A. Current, Sr.
  • Rep. James A. Harrell, III
  • Rep. Earl F. Jones
  • Rep. James H. Langdon, Jr.
  • Rep. Trudi Walend
  • Rev. Mac Legerton (Public Member)
  • Ms. Patricia S. Peterson (Public Member)
  • Dr. Al Wentzy (Public Member)
  • Dr. June St. Claire Atkinson
  • Hon. Cherie Killian Berry
  • Hon. Lanier M. Cansler
  • Dr. Eugene A. Conti, Jr.
  • Mr. J. Keith Crisco
  • Hon. Linda Wheeler Hayes
  • Hon. Harry E. Payne, Jr.