I am working on the template of this blog today in order to chase down some problems that have developed with my template and widgets.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Macon County Commissioners Tap Derek Roland For County Manager

Derek Roland poses with the Macon County Commissioners
Front: Derek Roland, who starts his new job as Macon County Manager on December 16th.
Back: (L-R) Commissioners Ron Haven, Ronnie Beale, Kevin Corbin, Jimmy Tate and Paul Higdon

The Macon County Commissioners met tonight for less than half an hour, most of which was spent by the commissioners taking everyone through their thought process of selecting Macon County native Derek Roland to be the new manager of Macon County, then they voted 5-0 to offer the job of Macon County Manager to Derek Roland.

He will start his new job on December 16, 2013 and his base pay will be $100,000 a year and he will be allowed $500 a month for travel expenses. He will work out a notice with the Town of Franklin, where he is currently the Town Planner.


Here is a list of the local media organizations present at the meeting:
Macon Media -- Bobby Coggins
The Franklin Press -- Jessica Waters
Macon County News -- Brittney Burns

The Town website has a short bio of Derek that I will re-post here:

Derek Roland is a native of Macon County. Upon graduation from Franklin High School, Roland attended Western Carolina University, receiving a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration and Law in 2007. In the two years following his graduation, Roland worked for Unique Properties as a North Carolina licensed real estate broker. In 2009 he assumed the position of Macon County Planner, where he proudly served until March of 2012. Roland was hired by the Town of Franklin as Planner in late March 2012, and looks forward to serving the citizens of the municipality for years to come. Currently, Roland is completing his Masters Degree in the field of Public Administration at Western Carolina University. Roland is a member of the Franklin Rotary Club and was named Macon County Citizen of the Year for 2011.