I am working on the template of this blog today in order to chase down some problems that have developed with my template and widgets.

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Early Voting in Congressional Primary Begins Today
Ends Saturday, June 4th at Noon

File Photo of the Macon County Courthouse

Early voting in the 2016 Congressional Primary begins today at 8 am and will end at noon on June 4th. Primary election day will be June 7th, and polls will be open from 6:60 am to 7:30 pm.

Voters will need to have Photo ID in order to vote. Learn about the acceptable forms of identification at the North Carolina Voter ID website.

There are two ballots for this election, one for Democrats and one for Libertarians, Republicans and Unaffiliated voters.

On the Democratic ballot, there is a little-reported or acknowledged primary race between Tom Hill and Rick Bryson for Congress. The winner will face Congressman Mark Meadows this fall.

On both the Democratic and Nonpartisan ballots, four candidates are running for Associate Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court. Here they are presented in the order in which the candidates appear on the ballots: Michael R. (Mike) Morgan, Daniel Robertson, Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds and Sabra Jean Faires.

Here is an election calendar for this primary, courtesy of the Macon County Board of Elections.


*One-stop Voting Begins

Thursday, May 26, 2016 Hours 8-5
One-stop Voting EndsSaturday, June 4, 2016 Hours 9-1
Last Day to Request an Absentee Ballot by MailTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 5:00 pm
*Last Day to Return an Absentee Ballot by Mail In-PersonTuesday, June 7, 2016 at 5:00 pm
Congressional Primary DayTuesday, June7, 2016 (6:30 am - 7:30 pm)
County CanvassTuesday, June 14, 2016 at 11:00 am

*One-Stop Voting is held at the Macon County Courthouse only for this election; hours are May 26-27 (8-5), May 31-June 3 (8-5) & Saturday, June 4 (9-1)

All Macon County Polling locations will be open for this election from 6:30 am to 7:30 pm on Tuesday, June 7, 2016. 

* If mailed, your ballot will be timely only if the envelope is postmarked on or before June 7, 2016 and received by June 10, 2016. 

If you are mailing your ballot on or near the deadline, you should ensure that your container-return envelope is postmarked by a postal official.